My Life in Bangkok

Happy Anniversary!

Posted by baby ele on April 2, 2010

Dear Readers,

So April 2nd marks my anniversary … anniversary of leaving HK and moving to Bangkok……It’s been 12 years!
I still remember March 31st was my last day of school, and my friend Arun asking me, “Stacy, is this all some really sick April Fool’s Day joke?”

Aww…and Grace and Arun came to the airport to say goodbye to me, can’t believe what babies we were then!

12 years later, I’m alone… my parents most likely have moved back to Hong Kong, and there is honestly nothing really holding me to this place – except for Gizmo and Perdy.

So when I moved back here from Singapore? I realised that I had to find happiness here, and since my source of happiness is to be around my parents and family…they love Bangkok…they live in Bangkok…thus I accepted Bangkok.
When they left Bangkok, and I was faced with living here indefinitely? I became super proactive, started doing things I liked to do, and I would say made something out of my time here.

There are lots of things to love about Thailand, the people are so wonderfully nice (to a fault), everything is affordable…food is good, shopping is great…weather is fabulous….and then there are things to hate about Thailand…for example….TRAFFIC.  And my life is really nice and comfortable here, I drive a nice car, live in a nice apartment, I have a bff here, perdy and gizmo are here….life is good and happy!

Alvin told me that he thinks I live in “Canada” because my life isn’t a Thai life at all. But i think that makes sense, I make the most of my time here, I enjoy staying at home, and just chilling with my darlings, and staying in my bubble.

So wow, Happy Anniversary Bangkok. I think our romance has been off and on, love and hate, a lot of indifference, and now, you are just one fabulously comfortable city.

Finally I’m comfortable,
Stacy

One Response to “Happy Anniversary!”

  1. i come from Hong Kong and I live in bangkok as well 😛
    I love this place, i love the food and the people and the language. I love its transportation modes (motorbike taxis, tuk-tuks).
    Bangkok rocks!
    well, except for the horrible stuff going on in Din Daeng and other districts 😦

    i hope things get back to normal.

Leave a comment